Out of Body Experience

I FREAKED OUT!!!!

I tried, really I have been trying to talk to DB – and yes, I know that it is futile, but I can’t help but think that there is a good man in there somewhere and it is my mission to bring him back…..I could do it, I can save our marriage…I know this isn’t the end….I won’t LET it be the end.  There has to be something we can work on…some shred of US left.

Not for DB.

He told me in no uncertain terms – in that snide and egotistical manner —  “I don’t love you.  You and the kids mean nothing to me.”  But his actions speak even louder.  He’s started to ignore our daughter – he’s making a show of talking to our son.  He won’t show up for events when we need him here – heck he isn’t even showing up for dinner anymore.  And then to top it off, the cell bill came up on line….he’s over on his text messages (guess who he’s been texting?).  DB is also over on his minutes.  We’ve never done this – not between the two of us.  DB’s been talking to her every day on his way home from work – this is why we can’t get a hold of him even when MY daughter had an emergency at school this week.  Straight to voicemail. How can he ignore the kids?  He knows they look forward to his calls so they can “prepare” for him to come home.   He won’t even answer his email when I need something.  But wait, he’s been emailing her every night, every day, and it’s so bad that he texts and talks to her when he’s supposed to be responsible for the kids.

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. How much can one woman take? 

It’s one thing to say we failed each other but failing his children is an entirely different matter.

So I waited until the kids were in bed and asleep.

I couldn’t take it anymore.  My entire body was vibrating with anger – I started shouting “WHY ARE YOU RUINING MY LIFE??? WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU?”  Then I did the unthinkable, I grabbed DB by the t-shirt and pulled him toward me shouting in his face. “You’re a pathetic, weak excuse of a man.  WHY do you insist on staying?  If you love SB so much get the hell out.  Leave! She can leave her husband and kids, you can leave us and go be one happy couple.  BUT GET THE HELL OUT OF THIS HOUSE. I deserve better and my kids deserve better.  I can’t even believe I married you….what do you even have to offer?  I HATE YOU!!!! Do you hear me? I HATE YOU!!! WHY are you RUINING my LIFE???”

During this rant I had grabbed DB by the collar of his t-shirt.  I wound my fingers through the fabric and tightly, securely grabbed hold.   I shook him – the entire time I was letting all of the negative energy out of me I was shaking DB by the collar.  I kept screaming “GET OUT!!!!”  I couldn’t stop  myself – I didn’t know where that pent-up anger had come from – all I knew was that I WANTED ANSWERS!!

But DB wouldn’t leave.  DB didn’t leave.  He just sat there and looked past me – he looked right through me.

I was so scared and stunned by my actions I started shaking.  Who was this crazed woman?

Finally, I grabbed DB’s face and forced him to look at me – “Get OUT!  Please leave us alone and leave.  Stop this and go – live your new life with SB,”  the words seethed pleadingly out of my mouth.  Then, beaten but stoic I walked upstairs, sat down in our bathroom, and cried.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Writing Reverend
    Oct 11, 2009 @ 14:17:52

    The reason he didn’t leave is because he still loves you. You may want answers now, but they are not going to come anytime soon. The more you push the more it will cause him just to tighten up and withdraw. For some men it may be a case where something was lacking emotionally or sexually at home. Unfortunately, us men don’t know what we are doing once we decide to enter into exrtamarital affairs. We have no thoughts on the impact of financial stress on the family, money wasted, emotional withdrawal from the spouse, or the psychological trauma of children.
    I was in the same spot as DB. Because I didn’t know what to say or was just down right embarassed, I just kept my mouth shut everytime I got a chance.
    It sounds like from his position, that he is in an emotional relationship and just doesn’t know how to get out of it. In other words here created some type of “normalcy” from the double life that he his newly accustomed to. All of his time is now being divided and he feels some sort of commitment towards the other woman.
    My wife and I went through the same thing and no one would believe that we are the happiest couple in the world even thought there are two kids born outside of the marriage. We went through a divorce for seven months and spent about $10,000 in attorney fees and court costs. The way that the law makes two former lovers enemies was just not worth it.
    It was hard for me to move in back home after me and the other split, but after some counseling (when I finally opened up to the idea) it was pretty evident that had some self inflicted emotional issues going on myself. Instead of talking to my spouse about the lack of excitement in our relationship I went out looking for it from others. Now we’re stuck with child support payments and trying to get visitation rights so that the siblings can visit each other.
    In other words, if you want it to work it may just take some time apart before he realizes what he has been missing. Maybe it will just have to be you taking your kids to your parents or something. If you doesn’t realize after some time, then maybe it is best that you are not with him.

    Reply

    • bnchtedon
      Oct 15, 2009 @ 00:27:34

      Thank you for your perspective – ironically enough Dr. X tells me the same thing regarding DB….that he is now stuck and doens’t know how to get out of the situation. It is difficult for me to understand that right now, but I really appreciate your viewpoint because it gives me something to think about. I really want to believe that he still loves me which is why I keep holding on to any shred of hope that will come along. Currently, I am not sure where we are headed, but I am willing to try – I hope he is too even if it is eventually.

      Reply

  2. The Writing Reverend
    Oct 11, 2009 @ 14:19:40

    It’s never easy

    Reply

  3. Writing Reverend
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 12:57:11

    I would suggest reading my book, it has been said to work wonders for many people. Here is the link http://www.amazon.com/How-Did-I-Get-Here/dp/0982556403/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1255697727&sr=8-1#reader

    Reply

  4. wakingpersephone
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 05:27:13

    I would walk out and force him to actually think about why he’s doing what he’s doing and why he had the affair. He probably hasn’t thought about either. I’m new to your blog..the “other woman” is married? Does her husband know? Does SHE wantt to stay married? If she does, leaving is your best course of action I think. He’ll become very confused and probably clingy with her and scare her lol. It will no longer be exciting, but a threat. It will resolve. He’ll be forced to think about what he’s going to lose and decide what he’s going to do. Whatever he decides it’s gotta be better than this hell?

    Take care

    Reply

  5. The Writing Reverend
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 15:53:13

    I agree, it would definitely put the pressure on him and although he may be full of pride, he will buckle on some logical account and make a choice rather quickly.

    Reply

Leave a comment